Skip to Main Content

IFCA Chief Awards

In May, 1979, the IFCA Board approved the program for Outstanding and Distinguished Illinois Fire Chief of the Year as recommended by board member, Chief Paul Boecker, Lisle FPD.


Fire Chief of the Year


2023 Chief Rudy Horist, McHenry Township FPD
2022 Chief Joe Heim, East Dubuque FD
2021 No Award Presented
2020 Chief Derek Bergsten, Rockford FD
Chief John Koller, Cornbelt FPD
2019 Chief Joseph Henning, Quincy FD
2018 Chief Andy Bonomo, York Center FPD
Chief Richard Mikel, Elk Grove Village FD
2017 No Award Presented
2016 Chief Don Markowski, Addison FPD
Chief David Mayotte, Watseka FD
2015 Chief John Hojek, Hometown FPD
2014 Chief Michael Falese, Bartlett FPD
Chief Brent Saunders, O’Fallon FD
2013 No Award Presented
2012 Chief Craig Haigh, Hanover Park FD
Chief Harold Holsinger, Coal City FD
2011 Chief John Schuldt, Carpentersville FD
Chief Mark Kirschhoffer, Newport Township FPD
2010 Chief David Dato, Wauconda FPD
Chief Myron Munyon, Papineau FPD
2009 Chief Joseph Holomy, Effingham FD
Chief Greg Render, Signal Hill FD
2008 Chief Michael Figolah, Mount Prospect FD
Fire Marshal Robert Bettenhausen, Tinley Park FD
2007 No Award Presented
2006 Chief Tim Sashko, Buffalo Grove FD
2005 Chief Thomas Freeman, Lisle-Woodridge FPD
2004 Chief Patrick Kenny, Hinsdale FD
2003 Chief James Grady III, Frankfort FPD – Paid and/or Combination Category
Chief Robert B. Graham, Lake Bluff FD – Volunteer
Commissioner James Joyce, Chicago FD – Paid Category
2002 Chief Jay Reardon, Northbrook FD
2001 Chief Chuck Henrici, River Grove FD – Lifetime Achievement Award
Chief Dan Hermes, Pleasantview FPD – Paid Chief of the Year
Chief Rick Haase, Staunton FPD – Volunteer Chief of the Year


1982 Outstanding
  Chief Larry Pairitz, Mount Prospect FD
  Chief Paul Boecker, Lisle FD
  Chief Richard Beilfuss, Glenbrook FPD
  Chief James Cote, Broadview FD
  Chief Harvey Carothers, Palatine FD
  Chief William (Red) Stancliff, Aledo FD
1981 Outstanding
  Chief John Reitman, Sr., Libertyville FD
  Chief Ken Wood, Glenview FD
  Chief Al Hoelbl, Niles FD
  Chief R.S. Rockenbach, Grayslake FD
  Chief John Henrici, U.S. Fire Administration, Region V
1980 Outstanding
  Chief Edward Peters, Joliet FD
  Chief Robert Murray, Bridgeview FD
  Chief James Cragan, Rockford FD
  Chief Jerome Burke, Skokie FD
  Chief Tom Nelson, Tri-State FPD

General Mailing Address:                       Remittance/AR  Address:

PO Box 7, Skokie, IL 60076-0007           PO Box 4424, Lisle,IL 60532
Tel: 847.966.0732
Fax: 847.966.0782

Powered by Web site design and development by, Inc.