Skip to Main Content


The establishment of Fire Chief Emeritus is an honorary title for retired Fire Chiefs who have meritorious service to their community and the fire service profession. Fire Chief Emeritus is reserved for those retired chiefs who have had distinguished careers, regardless if paid or volunteer, and whose significant contributions set them apart from their peers.

Nominations submitted are considered based on achievements and service to the fire service community, education and certifications, innovative accomplishments, involvement in professional fire service organizations, and service in the community to include outside organizations during your term as Fire Chief.


2024 Nomination Period Open

Deadline for submission - August 2, 2024


  • Chief Dave Haywood, Blue Island Fire Department


  • None Awarded


  • Chief Alan Berkowsky, Winnetka Fire Department
  • Deputy Commissioner Edmund Enright, Chicago Fire Department
  • Chief Patrick Kenny, Western Springs Fire/Rescue
  • Chief Bruce Ziegle, Park Forest Fire Department


  • None Awarded


  • Chief Rick Gallas Richmond Township Fire Protection District
  • Chief Jeffrey Macko Cary Fire Protection District
  • Chief James Reardon Northbrook Fire Department


  • Chief Robert Wilcox Park Forest Fire Department


  • Chief David Skoryi Lockport Township Fire Protection District


  • Chief Ken Dunn Tinley Park Fire Protection District
  • Chief Ted Golden Mokena Fire Protection District
  • Chief Donald Gould, Jr. Prospect Heights Fire Protection District
  • Chief James Grady, III Frankfort Fire Protection District


  • Chief Dave Dato Wauconda Fire Protection District
  • Chief Mike Grubermann University Park Fire Department
  • Chief James Dominik Wilmette Fire Department


  • None Awarded


  • Chief Robert Bettenhausen Tinley Park Fire Department
  • Chief James Saletta Huntley Fire Protection District
  • Chief Jeff Waite Sullivan Fire Protection District


  • Chief John Fennell Elmhurst Fire Department
  • Chief Dan Hermes Pleasantview Fire Protection District
  • Chief Robert Stecher West Peoria Fire Protection District
  • Chief Andrew O’Donnell Lemont Fire Protection District
  • Chief Lowell Mathre Newark Fire Protection District


  • Chief Jerome Burke Skokie Fire Department
  • Chief Ernest Russell Canton/Peoria Fire Department
  • Chief Fred J. Olson Franklin Park Fire Department
  • Chief James Quinn Deerfield Bannockburn Fire Protection District
  • Chief Robert Graham Lake Bluff Fire Department
  • Chief Timothy F. Deutschle Addison Fire Protection District


  • Chief Timothy McGrath Gurnee Fire Department
  • Chief Harry Kinowski Niles Fire Department
  • Chief Leslie Albert Decatur Fire Department
  • Chief Ralph Blust Glenside Fire Protection District


  • Chief Nicholas H. Althoff Effingham Fire Department
  • Chief George W. Beverly Lockport Fire Protection District
  • Chief Samuel J. Dada Gurnee Fire Department
  • Chief John R. Krizik Posen Fire Department
  • Chief Thomas A. McCoy Catlin Fire Protection District
  • Chief Robert D. Nielsen Oak Brook Fire Department
  • Chief Kris A. Phipps Charleston Fire Department
  • Chief Michael R. Stried Winthrop Harbor Fire Department
  • Chief William C. Watts Havana Rural Fire Protection District


  • Chief Edward V. Dubowski Park Ridge Fire Department
  • Chief Richard R. Swanson Elmhurst Fire Department
  • Chief Randy C. Justus Mundelein Fire Department
  • Chief Lanson W. Russell DeKalb Fire Department
  • Chief Robert M. Buhs Orland Fire Protection District
  • Chief Lester F. Macko Cary Fire Protection District
  • Chief Oscar Presley Harlem Roscoe Fire Protection District
  • Chief Paul H. Boecker Lisle Woodridge Fire Protection District

General Mailing Address:                       Remittance/AR  Address:

PO Box 7, Skokie, IL 60076-0007           PO Box 4424, Lisle,IL 60532
Tel: 847.966.0732
Fax: 847.966.0782

Powered by Web site design and development by, Inc.